Fool's Night Out
Fools Night Out comes from a song by Phil Wiggins | Moon photo courtesy Michael's Photo Gallery.


Fool's Night Out : Upcoming Events | Regular Events | Artists | Venues | Reviews | Dance Lessons | Sources & Links

Upcoming Events
for the Greater Washington DC area
Date Artist Venue Dancing? Notes
2018
Mon Jan 1
Blue Monday
Lil Margie
Westminster Church
400 I St. SW
6-9pm - $5
Thur-Sun Jan 4-7
Chris Thomas King
Blues Alley
8 & 10pm shows
Thur Jan 4
Thrillbilies
JVs
Thrillbilly Karaoke
Sun Jan 7
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Thur-Fri Jan 11-12
Antibalas
Hamilton
Afrobeat - w/ TBA
Sat Jan 13
Cherry Poppin' Daddies
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 8pm
9pm - $20(adv Jan 6)/$30 (door)
Tue Jan 16
Alejandro Escovedo
Hamilton
"An Evening with" - $25-45+SC
Fri Jan 19
Donna the Buffalo
Hamilton
carpet
$25-15+SC - w/ TBA - 8pm
Fri Jan 19
Jr. Brown
Birchmere
siddown & shuddup
7:30pm - $25+SC
Sun Jan 21
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Jan 27
Jon Cleary & the Monster Gentlemen
Hamilton
8pm - $15-25.50+SC - w/ TBA
Sun Jan 27
Nighthawks on the Blue Highway
Amp
$25 - 8pm - Documentary & Concert
Sun Feb 4
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Tue-Wed Feb 6-7
Tommy Emmanuel w/ Rodney Crowell
Birchmere
7:30pm - $59.50+SC
Tue Feb 6
New Old Jamboree
New Deal Cafe'
Greenbelt
7-9pm - Ruthie & the Wranglers w/ guests
Thur Feb 8
CJ Chenier
Creative Alliance
yes
8pm - $23(+$3 door)+SC
Fri Feb 9
Marcia Ball
Barns
8pm
Sat Feb 10
Mardi Gras Ball
Rhodes on the Pautuxent
Cranston, RI
yes
Beausoleil, Nathan & the Zydeco Cha-Chas, & TBA - 6:30pm-midnight
Tue Feb 13
Mardi Gras
Sat Feb 16
Mark O'Connor & the O'Connor Family Band
Hamilton
$20-50+SC - 8pm - "An Evening with"
Sun Feb 18
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Mar 4
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Mar 18
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Fri-Sat Apr 6-7
Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives
Birchmere
siddown & shuddup
$59.50+SC - 7:30pm
Sun Apr 8
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Thur Apr 19
Los Lobos
Birchmere
siddown & shuddup
$49.50+SC - 7:30pm
Sun Apr 22
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sat May 5
Strauss Waltz Ball
w/ Olde Vienna
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 8pm
$20 - 9-midnight
Sun May 13
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sat-Sun May 20-21
Chesapeake Bay Blues Festival
Sandy Point Park
Annapolis, MD
grass
Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Delbert McClinton, Keb' Mo', Doyle Brimhall II, Shemika Copeland, Chubby Carrier, Jerron "Blind Boy" Paxton, ...
Sun May 27
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Fri-Sun June 1-3
Michael Arnone's Crawfish Fest
Sussex County Fairgrounds, Augusta, NJ
Fri: Katie Henry, Rosie Ledet, & Jon Cleary
Sat: Marcia Ball, Rosie Ledet, Jeff Broussard, Bonearama, Big Sam's Funky Nation, Honey Island Swamp Band, ...
Sun: Taj Mahal, George Porter Jr., Amanda Shaw, Samantha Fish, Terry & the Zydeco Bad Boys, Big Sam's Funky Nation, Jumpin' Johnny Sansone, Big Sam, Zydeco Revelators, ...
Sun June 10
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun June 24
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun July 8
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun July 22
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun-Fri July 22-27
Old-Time, Blues & Swing Weeks
Augusta Heritage Center
Elkins, WV
yes & lessons
Wed-Sun July 25-29
Floyd Fest
Mile Post 170.5
Blue Ridge Parkway
Floyd, VA
Jason Isbell & 400 Unit, Langhorne Slim, Foster the People, Infamous Stringdusters, Antibalas, Hiss Golden Messenger, SteelWheels, ...
Sun July 29-Fri Aug 3
Cajun, Creole, Classic Country Weeks
Augusta Heritage Center
Elkins, WV
yes & lessons
Sun Aug 5
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun-Fri Aug 5-10
Bluegrass amp; Vocal Weeks
Augusta Heritage Center
Elkins, WV
yes & lessons
Wed Aug 15
Uke Fest
Strathmore Gazebo
FREE - 7pm
Sun Aug 19
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Sept 2
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Bumper Car Pavillion
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
FREE - 3:30-6pm
Sun Sept 16
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Oct 7
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Oct 21
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Nov 4
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Nov 18
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Dec 2
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Dec 16
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Dec 30
Sunday Waltz
TBA
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Mon Dec 31
New Years Eve
Mon Dec 31
First Night Alexandria
all over Old Town Alexandria
depends on the room
2018

#include <Standard Disclaimer.h>
Fool's Night Out is an attempt to gather all the bands, and shows that I enjoy into one public site. It is in no way comprehensive and is not genre specific. It matches my tastes, but includes other recommendations as well. It tends to focus on Roots Music; specifically Blues, Swing, Rockabilly, Zydeco, and occasionally Latin, Ska, and Cajun, as well as the un-classifyable.
This information is gathered and updated in my spare time. Verify the events and times.
--- Scott Mitchell

Fool's Night Out : Upcoming Events | Regular Events | Artists | Venues | Reviews | Dance Lessons | Sources & Links


Last Updated: 2017/12/10
© 1999-2017 Scott Mitchell

Comments/Suggestions: