Fool's Night Out
Fools Night Out comes from a song by Phil Wiggins | Moon photo courtesy Michael's Photo Gallery.


Fool's Night Out : Upcoming Events | Regular Events | Artists | Venues | Reviews | Dance Lessons | Sources & Links


Upcoming Events
for the Greater Washington DC area
Date Artist Venue Dancing? Notes
Fri Nov 18 - Fri Dec 23
Downtown Holiday Market
Downtown DC
8th & F St.-ish NW
outside
Music noon-7pm daily
12: Janine Wilson (noon), Seth Kibel & Sean Lane (5pm); 15: Seth Kibel & the Kleztet (5pm); 16: Ruthie's Trio (noon), Swangbang (2:30pm), Carly Harvey (5pm); 17: Djangolaya (2:30pm); 18: Dave Chappell (noon), Yuletiede Troubadours (2:30pm), Fast Eddie (5pm)
Tue Dec 13
Postmodern Jukebox
Strathmore
Fri Dec 16, 8pm
Thrillbillys
Palisades Hub Cap Centre
inside
w/ Rocklands BBQ Truck
Fri Dec 16, 8:30-11pm
Bad Influence
Colvin Run Dance Hall
inside, dancing
$20(adv)/$25(door)
Sun Dec 18, 3:30-6pm
Sunday Waltz
Waltz Sisters
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
inside, dancing, lesson @ 2:45pm
$15 - fully vaxed verification required
Fri Nov 18 - Fri Dec 23
Downtown Holiday Market
Downtown DC
8th & F St.-ish NW
outside
Music noon-7pm daily
20: 19th St. Band (noon), Snakehead Run (2:30pm); 21: Hula Monsters (2:30pm), Ian Walters (5pm); 23: Kiss & Ride (5pm)
Thur Dec 22, 8pm
19th St Band
Pearl St. Warehouse
tix
Sun Dec 25
Xmas
Thur Dec 29, 7pm
Annual Hank Williams Tribute
Creative Alliance
inside, siddown & shuddup
w/ Robin & Linda Williams, Daryl Davis, Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer, Patrick McAvinue, Alex Laquement, ...
Fri-Sat Dec 30-31
Rebirth Brass Band
Hamilton
Fri: Eddie 9v, Sat: Beat Hotel
Fri Dec 30, 7:30pm
Annual Hank Williams Tribute
Birchmere
inside, siddown & shuddup
w/ Robin & Linda Williams, Daryl Davis, Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer, Patrick McAvinue, Alex Laquement, ...
Sat Dec 31, 9pm
Scott Silbert Big Band
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
dancing, lesson @ 8pm
$30(adv)/$40(door)
Sat Dec 31, 6pm
Little Red & the Renegades
Kennedy Center
Skylight Pavillion
Millenium Stage
FREE
2023
Fri Jan 13, 7:30pm
Dream Discs: Van Morrison's Moondance, Springsteen's Wild, Innocent & the E-Street Shuffle
Birchmere
inside, siddown & shuddup
Sat Jan 14, 7:30pm
Last Train Home
Birchmere
inside, siddown & shuddup
$29.50+SC - also Thursday (12) at Rams Head
Tue Jan 17
vAlbert Lee
Jammin Java
Thur-Sat Jan 19-21
Del McCoury Band
Barns of Wolftrap
Fri Jan 20
Tex Rubinowitz & the Bad Boys Reunion
Birchmere
w/ Eddie Angel, Ratso, Johnny Castle, Scotty Flowers, Martha Hull
Sun Feb 5, 7:30pm
Daryl Davis's Thanks for the Memories
Birchmere
inside, siddown & shuddup
$39.50+ w/ Angela Hill, Deletta Gillespie, Jeff Jones, John Jamison, PAtty Reese, ...
Thur-Sat Feb 16-18
Tedeschi Trucks Band
Warner Theatre
inside
Sun Feb 19
Buddy Holly Tribute
Rosensteel Hall
9707 Rosensteel Ave, Silver Spring
inside
w/ TBD
Sun Feb 19, 8pm
Shawn Colvin, Marc Cohn, & Sarah Jarosz
Warner Theatre
Mon-Tue Jan 20-21, 7:30pm
Keb' Mo'
Birchmere
inside, siddown & shuddup
Fri-Sat Jan 24-25, 7:30pm
Richard Thompson (solo acoustic)
Birchmere
inside, siddown & shuddup
Thur-Sat Mar 2-4
Tedeschi Trucks Band
Warner Theatre
inside
Sat Mar 4, 8pm
Steep Canyon Rangers
Barns of Wolftrap
$47
Wed-Thur Mar 8-9, 7:30pm
Lyle Lovett & his Acoustic Group
Birchmere
inside
Fri-Sat Mar 10-11
Baltimore Old Time Music Fest
Creative Alliance
inside, square dance
w/ Ben Hunter, Joe Seamons & Phil Wiggins, Ginny Hawker Trio, Hubby Jenkins, Ken & Brad Kolodner, Lonesome Ace Stringband, ... workshops, etc.
Tue-Wed Mar 21-22
Ladysmith Black Mombazo
Barns of Wolftrap
Sat Mar 25, 8pm
Sun Mar 26, 7pm
Big Bad Voodoo Daddy
Barns of Wolftrap
yes, lesson @ pre-show
$55
Sat Apr 1, 8pm
BandHouse Gigs: Fountains of Wayne tribute
Barns of Wolftrap
inside, siddown & shuddup
$27 - w. Naked Blue, David Kitchen, Todd & Ryan Wright, Cal Everett, ...
Wed Apr 12
Booker T Jones
Barns of Wolftrap
Thur-Sun May 25-28
DelFest
Cumberland, MD
w/ Del McCoury, Travellin' McCourys, ...
Thur June 15
Angelique Kidjo
Strathmore
Wed-Sun July 26-30
Floyd Fest
5826 Floyd Hwy N
Check, VA
Black Crowes, My Morning Jacket, Sheryl Crow, Goose, Maggie Rose, Town Mountain, ...

#include <Standard Disclaimer.h>
Fool's Night Out is an attempt to gather all the bands, and shows that I enjoy into one public site. It is in no way comprehensive and is not genre specific. It matches my tastes, but includes other recommendations as well. It tends to focus on Roots Music; specifically Blues, Swing, Rockabilly, Zydeco, and occasionally Latin, Ska, and Cajun, as well as the un-classifyable.
This information is gathered and updated in my spare time. Verify the events and times.
--- Scott Mitchell

Fool's Night Out : Upcoming Events | Regular Events | Artists | Venues | Reviews | Dance Lessons | Sources & Links


Last Updated: 2022/11/28
© 1999-2022 Scott Mitchell

Comments/Suggestions: