Fool's Night Out
Fools Night Out comes from a song by Phil Wiggins | Moon photo courtesy Michael's Photo Gallery.


Fool's Night Out : Upcoming Events | Regular Events | Artists | Venues | Reviews | Dance Lessons | Sources & Links

Upcoming Events
for the Greater Washington DC area
Date Artist Venue Dancing? Notes
Fri Nov 24 - Sat Dec 23
Downtown Holiday Market
Downtown DC
8th & F St.-ish NW
Music noon-7pm daily
(4) Billy Coulter Duo (noon-2pm)
(5) Ian Walters & Friends (5-7pm)
(6) Seth Kibel & Sean Lane (5-7pm)
(7) Patty Reese (noon-2pm)
(8) Carly & Sol (noon-2pm), Janine Wilson & Max Evans (5-7pm)
(9) Hokum Jazz (2:30-4:30pm)
(10) Blue Panamuse (noon-2pm), $0.49 Dress (5-7pm)
Tue Dec 5
New Old Jamboree
New Deal Cafe'
Greenbelt
7-9pm - Ruthie & the Wranglers w/ guests
Wed Dec 6
Thrillbillies
Nicks
yes
9-11pm - $10
Thur Dec 7
Steep Canyon Rangers
Rams Head Annapolis
Fri Dec 8
Natalie MacMaster and Donnell Leahy
George Mason Center for Arts
$55-33+SC - 8pm
Sat Dec 9
Sherman Holmes Project w/ Robk Ickes & Trey Hensley
Creative Alliance
8pm - $25(+$3 door)+SC
Sat Dec 9
Seth Kibel Quintet w/ Flo Anito
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 8pm
9pm - $18
Sun Dec 10
Emmylou Harris w/ Learry Campbell & Teresa Williams
Hamilton
Bonaparte's Reteat Benefit - $90/$100(seated)/$250(VIP)+SC
Fri Nov 24 - Sat Dec 23
Downtown Holiday Market
Downtown DC
8th & F St.-ish NW
Music noon-7pm daily
(11) Bill Baker Band (5-7pm)
(12) Jonny Grave (noon-2pm), 19th St. Band (5-7pm)
(13) Dave Chappell & Dave Hartage (noon-2pm)
(14) Patty Reese (noon-2pm)
(15) Andra Faye & Scott Ballantine (noon-2pm), Snakehead Run (5-7pm)
(16) Lilt (2:30-4:30pm), Trio Caliente (5-7pm)
(17) Andra Faye & Scott Ballantine (noon-2pm), Chrystylez Bacon (2:30-4:30pm)
Fri Dec 15
Chatham County Line
Gypsy Sallys
8:30pm - $15(adv)/$20+SC - Electric Holiday Show
Fri Dec 15
Curley Taylor & Zydeco Trouble
Pearl Street Warehouse
yes, w/ lesson
8pm - $20+SC
Sat Dec 16
Sweet Heaven Kings
Millennium Stage
Kennedy Center
yes
FREE - 6-7pm
Sun Dec 17
Sunday Waltz
Notoriuos Folk
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Fri Nov 24 - Sat Dec 23
Downtown Holiday Market
Downtown DC
8th & F St.-ish NW
Music noon-7pm daily
(18) Jim Stephanson (noon-2pm)
(20) Dave Chappell & Dave Hartage (noon-2pm), Maureen Andary (2:30-4:30pm)
(21) Ian Walters & Friends (2:30-4:30pm), Gaye Adegbalola & John Freund (5-7pm)
(22) Jonny Grave (noon-2pm), Sweater Set (5-7pm)
(23) Abigail & Eric Selby (noon-2pm), Miss Tess & the Talkbacks (2:30-4:30pm), Ian Walters & Friends (5-7pm)
Thur-Sat Dec 21-23
Shemekia Copeland
Blues Alley
8 & 10pm shows - $40+SC - xmas show
Mon Dec 25
Christmas
Thur Dec 28
Stray Birds
Bumper Jacksons Duo
Creative Alliance
8pm - $18(+$3 door)+SC
Thur Dec 28
Ron Holloway Band
"Very Special Guest TBA"
Gypsy Sallys
8:30pm
Fri Dec 29
David Wax Museum
Hamilton
$22.25(seated)/$14.75(bar)+SC - 8pm
Sat-Sun Dec 30-31
Bonerama
New Orleans Suspects
Hamilton
$22.50+(Sat) $43.50+(Sun)
Sat Dec 30
Annual Hank Williams Tribute
Birchmere
siddown & shuddup
$29.50+SC - 7:30pm - w/ Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer, Robin & Linda Williams, Robbie Fulks, Patrick McAvinue, Mark Schatz
Sat Dec 30
Dirty Dozen Brass Band
State Theatre
$27 - 9pm
Sat Dec 30
Hot Club of Baltimore
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 8pm
Sun Dec 31
New Years Eve
Sun Dec 31
First Night Alexandria
all over Old Town Alexandria
depends on the room
$15(Oct)/$20(to 12/12)/$30 - Bill Kirchen, Grandsons, Blue Moon Cowgirls, Curtis Blues, Ruthie & the Wranglers, Billy Coulter, King Teddy, Janine Wilson, Al Petteway & Amy White, ...
Sun Dec 31
Blair Carman & the Belleview Boys
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 8pm
And
Seldom Scene, Eastman String Band, Plate Scrapers
Thiervery Corp, Gogol Boredllo, & Trouble Funk
19th St. Band
Birchmere
Anthem
Hamiltion Loft
2018
Thur-Sun Jan 4-7
Chris Thomas King
Blues Alley
8 & 10pm shows
Sat Jan 13
Cherry Poppin' Daddies
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 8pm
9pm - $20(adv)/$30
Tue Jan 16
Alejandro Escovedo
Hamilton
"An Evening with"
Fri Jan 19
Donna the Buffalo
Hamilton
carpet
Fri Jan 19
Jr. Brown
Birchmere
siddown & shuddup
7:30pm - $25+SC
Sun Jan 27
Jon Cleary & the Monster Gentlemen
Hamilton
Sun Jan 27
Nighthawks on the Blue Highway
Amp
$25 - 8pm - Documentary & Concert
Tue-Wed Feb 6-7
Tommy Emmanuel w/ Rodney Crowell
Birchmere
7:30pm - $59.50+SC
Fri Feb 9
Marcia Ball
Barns
8pm
Sat Feb 10
Mardi Gras Ball
Rhodes on the Pautuxent
Cranston, RI
yes
Beausoleil, Nathan & the Zydeco Cha-Chas, & TBA - 6:30pm-midnight
Tue Feb 13
Mardi Gras
Sat Feb 16
Mark O'Connor & the O'Connor Family Band
Hamilton
"An Evening with"
Fri-Sat Apr 6-7
Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives
Birchmere
siddown & shuddup
529.50+SC - 7:30pm
Sun-Fri July 22-27
Old-Time, Blues & Swing Weeks
Augusta Heritage Center
Elkins, WV
yes & lessons
Wed-Sun July 25-29
Floyd Fest
Mile Post 170.5
Blue Ridge Parkway
Floyd, VA
Foster the People, Infamous Stringdusters, Antibalas, Hiss Golden Messenger, SteelWheels, ...
Sun July 29-Fri Aug 3
Cajun, Creole, Classic Country Weeks
Augusta Heritage Center
Elkins, WV
yes & lessons
Sun-Fri Aug 5-10
Bluegrass amp; Vocal Weeks
Augusta Heritage Center
Elkins, WV
yes & lessons

#include <Standard Disclaimer.h>
Fool's Night Out is an attempt to gather all the bands, and shows that I enjoy into one public site. It is in no way comprehensive and is not genre specific. It matches my tastes, but includes other recommendations as well. It tends to focus on Roots Music; specifically Blues, Swing, Rockabilly, Zydeco, and occasionally Latin, Ska, and Cajun, as well as the un-classifyable.
This information is gathered and updated in my spare time. Verify the events and times.
--- Scott Mitchell

Fool's Night Out : Upcoming Events | Regular Events | Artists | Venues | Reviews | Dance Lessons | Sources & Links


Last Updated: 2017/11/21
© 1999-2017 Scott Mitchell

Comments/Suggestions: