Fool's Night Out
Fools Night Out comes from a song by Phil Wiggins | Moon photo courtesy Michael's Photo Gallery.


Fool's Night Out : Upcoming Events | Regular Events | Artists | Venues | Reviews | Dance Lessons | Sources & Links

Upcoming Events
for the Greater Washington DC area
Date Artist Venue Dancing? Notes
Mon Aug 7
Blue Monday
Linwood Taylor Band
Westminster Church
400 I St. SW
6-9pm - $5
Tue Aug 8
Rhiannon Giddens
Rams Head
Annapolis
Wed Aug 9
Tajmo: Taj Mahal & Keb'Mo'
Lincoln Theatre
Wed Aug 9
Matuto
Strathmore Gazebo
FREE - 7pm
Thur Aug 10
Carolyn Wonderland
Hamilton
Fri-Sat Aug 11-12
Stephen Stills & Judy Collins
Birchmere
7:30pm- $115+SC
Fri Aug 11
Lyle Lovett & his Large Band
Wolf Trap
8pm
Fri Aug 11
Leyla McCalla
Grist Mill Park
7:30-8:30pm
Fri Aug 11
Youssou N'Dour
Lisner
Sat Aug 12
Mary Chapin Carpenter
Lucinda Williams
Wolf Trap
7:30pm
Sat Aug 12
Radio King Orchestra
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 8pm
9pm - $20
Sun Aug 13
Bobby Thompson & Relevator Hill
Mason District Park
7:30pm
Tue Aug 15
Alejandro Escovedo & Joe Ely
Creative Alliance
7:30pm
Tue Aug 15
AJ Croce & Robbie Fulks
Hamilton
7:30pm
Wed Aug 16
Hard Swimming Fish
Mason District Park
7:30pm
Thur Aug 17
Sierra Hull
Bumper Jacksons Duo
Birchmere
7:30pm - $25+SC
Thur Aug 17
Hula Monsters
Rutherford Park, Fairfax
7:30-8:30pm - FREE
Fri Aug 18
Bill Kirchen & Redd Volkaert
Jammin Java
8pm
Sat Aug 19
Bandhouse Gigs: British Invasion 2nd Wave
Filmore
7:30pm - w/ Margot MacDonald, Brian Simms, Johnny Fantastic, Cal Everett, Vi-Kings, Bobby Thompson, Tommy Lepson, Eric Scott, and a cast of thousands.
Sat Aug 19
Hot August Music Festival
Oregon Ridge Park
Cockeysville, MD
$59+SC(early)/$69+SC(adv) +$15(parking) - Old Crow Medicine Show, Infamous Stringdusters, Lettuce, Cabinet, Dustbowl Revival, John Mooney, Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials, Memphis Gold, ...
Sat Aug 19
Terrance Simien
Reston Town Center
7:30-10pm - FREE
Sat Aug 19
Rock-A-Sonics
Hill Co BBQ
No Cover - 9:30pm
Sun Aug 20
Sunday Waltz
Waltz Du Jour
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Aug 20
Jonny Lang
Birchmere
7:30pm - $69.50+SC
Mon Aug 21
Blue Monday
Fast Eddie & the Slow Pokes
Westminster Church
400 I St. SW
6-9pm - $5
Wed Aug 23
Uke Fest
Strathmore Gazebo
FREE - 7pm
Thur Aug 24
Eilen Jewell
Rutherford Park, Fairfax
7:30-8:30pm - FREE
Fri Aug 25
Root Boy Slim All-stars
Bethesda Blues & Jazz
$25-30 - 8pm
Sat Aug 26
Rock-a-Sonics
Ryan Cain & the Ables
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 8pm
9pm-midnight
Sat Aug 26
King Soul
Lorton Workhouse Arts Center
FREE - 6-7pm
Tue Aug 29
Dale Watson
Hill Co BBQ
$18
Wed Aug 30
Beausoleil
Rams Head Annapolis
siddown & shuddup
Wed Aug 30
Marcia Ball
Birchmere
siddown & shuddup
7:30pm - $25+SC
Thur Aug 31
Beausoleil
Hamilton
carpet
Fast Eddie in Loft (10:30pm)
Thur Aug 31
Wayne Henderson & Hellen White
Nottoway Park, Vienna
7:30-8:30pm - FREE
Fri-Sun Sept 1-3
Rhythm & Roots Festival
Ninigret Park
Charlestown, RI
We Shall See
Fri: The Mavericks, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Shinyribs, Alex Meixner, Revelers, Jeffery Broussard, 10 Strings & a Goatskin, Turtle Duhks, Los Texmaniacs, Revelers, ...
Sat: Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy, MarchFourth!, Knickerbocker All-Stars, Marcia Ball, Steve Riley, Shinyribs, Jeffery Broussard, 10 Strings & a Goatskin, Pine Leaf Boys, Big Sandy & the Flyrite Boys, Sarah Potenza & Ian Crossman, Turtle Duhks, Los Texmaniacs, Horace Trahan, Revelers, ...
Sun: Roseanne Cash, New Orleans Suspects, Steve Riley, Jeffery Broussard, Pine Leaf Boys, Big Sandy & the Flyrite Boys, Sarah Potenza & Ian Crossman, Turtle Duhks, Los Texmaniacs, Horace Trahan, Revelers, ...
w/ Artists-in-Residences: Ed Poullard & Preston Frank, David Greely, & Johnny Nicholas
Sat Sept 2
Squirrel Nut Zippers
Ozomatli
Birchmere
siddown & shuddup
$45+SC - 7:30pm
Sun Sept 3
Sunday Waltz
Waltzing Stars Trio
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Sept 3
Alonzo's Memorial Picnic
Baltimore Blues Society
Rosedale American Legion Hall
w/ Andy T. Band w/ Anson Funderburgh & Alabama Mike, Tas Cru, Vanessa Collier, East Coast Sound (Johnny Neel, Dave Chappel, Tommy Lepson, Pete Ragusa, & Sonny Petrosky), Al Hill
Sun Sept 3
Squirrel Nut Zippers
Ozomatli
Rams Head Annapolis
siddown & shuddup
Tue-Wed Sept 5-6
Sting
Joe Sumner
Wolf Trap
7:30pm
Tue Sept 5
New Old Jamboree
New Deal Cafe'
Greenbelt
7-9pm - Ruthie & the Wranglers & guests
Thur Sept 7
WTMD 1st Thursdays
Canton Waterfront Park
5:30pm - FREE - w/ Mavericks, ...
Sun Sept 10
Hot Rize
Birchmere
7:30pm - $35+SC
Sat Sept 16
Gypsy Kings
Wolf Trap
8pm
Sun Sept 17
Sunday Waltz
Taylor Among the Devils
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Mon-Tue Sept 18-19
Randy Newman
Birchmere
7:30pm - $93.75+SC (includes copy of album)
Thur-Sat Sept 21-24
Watermelon Park Festival
Watermelon Park
Berryville, VA
Del McCoury, Quebe Sisters, Bumper Jacksons, Keller Williams, Seldom Scene Ken & Brad Kolodner, Marty Stuart, Molly Tuttle, Danny Barnes Trio, ...
Thur Sept 21
Blasters & Flat Duo Jets
Hill Co. BBQ
$22
Thur Sept 21
Randy Newman
Maryland hall
Tue Sept 26
Chris Hillman, Herb Pedersen & John Jorgenson
Birchmere
w/Jonathan Mudd - 7:30pm - $25+SC
Sun Oct 8
Sunday Waltz
Maivish
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Oct 8
James Hutner 6
Hamilton
carpet
Sun Oct 22
Sunday Waltz
Blue Bamboo
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Fri Nov 3
John Prine
Constitution Hall
$59-79
Sun Nov 5
Sunday Waltz
Terpsichore
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Nov 19
Sunday Waltz
Sugar Beat
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Dec 3
Sunday Waltz
Rhapsody
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Sun Dec 17
Sunday Waltz
Notoriuos Folk
Spanish Ballroom
Glen Echo Park
yes, lesson @ 2:45pm
$10 - 3:30-6pm
Mon Dec 25
Christmas
Sun Dec 31
New Years Eve
2018

#include <Standard Disclaimer.h>
Fool's Night Out is an attempt to gather all the bands, and shows that I enjoy into one public site. It is in no way comprehensive and is not genre specific. It matches my tastes, but includes other recommendations as well. It tends to focus on Roots Music; specifically Blues, Swing, Rockabilly, Zydeco, and occasionally Latin, Ska, and Cajun, as well as the un-classifyable.
This information is gathered and updated in my spare time. Verify the events and times.
--- Scott Mitchell

Fool's Night Out : Upcoming Events | Regular Events | Artists | Venues | Reviews | Dance Lessons | Sources & Links


Last Updated: 2017/07/16
© 1999-2017 Scott Mitchell

Comments/Suggestions: